Home » The AALITRA Translation Prize

The AALITRA Translation Prize

 AALITRA Translation Prize, 2018

The Australian Association for Literary Translation (AALITRA) now invites entries for the AALITRA Translation Prize. The AALITRA Translation Prize aims to acknowledge the wealth of literary translation skills present in the Australian community. Prizes are awarded for a translation of a selected prose text and for a translation of a selected poem, with the focus on a different language each time the prize is offered.

In 2018, the focus language will be Indonesian. The poetry text for translation is by Amir Hamzah. The prose text for translation is by Sapardi Djoko Damono. Entrants who choose to translate the prose text may also be interested in looking at a small piece of background reading (not for translation) that we have made available.

At an Awards Ceremony later this year, winners will be awarded a cash prize, a book prize, and one year’s membership of AALITRA. Prize-winning entries will be read aloud at the Awards Ceremony, and will be published in the Association’s peer-reviewed open-access journal, The AALITRA Review along with a few words from the translators.

AALITRA is grateful to the Consulate General of the Republic of Indonesia in Melbourne for supporting the 2018 AALITRA Translation Prize.


Closing date: Friday 11 May 2018

Entries (see conditions below) and enquiries should be sent to aalitratranslationprize@gmail.com


Conditions of entry:

The competition is only open to Australian citizens and permanent residents.

By entering, participants consent to their translation being published in The AALITRA Review if it is awarded a prize.

There is no entry fee but only one entry per participant will be accepted: either the prose translation or the poetry translation.

Only electronic submissions in Microsoft Word format will be accepted. The translation must be submitted on the AALITRA Trans Prize SUBMISSION FORM 2018, along with proof of the entrant’s Australian citizenship or permanent residency status. The judging process will be completely anonymous, i.e. all entries will be de-identified.

Your translation must be entirely your own work.

Late or incomplete entries will not be accepted. Once submitted, translations cannot be revised.

The judges’ decision is final. No correspondence will be entered into.

All participants will be notified by email of the outcome of the competition.



AALITRA Translation Prize, 2016


During a ceremony held at the China Cultural Centre Sydney on Tuesday 13 September we announced the winners of the 2016 AALITRA Translation Prize. In 2016 the focus language was Chinese, with entrants in the Prose category translating a story by A Yi (阿乙) and those in the Poetry category translating a poem by Rong Rong (荣荣).

There were 24 entries in total and the judges, four experts in Chinese literature and translation – Nicholas Jose (Chair), Isabelle Li, Eric Abrahamsen and Lintao Qi – were impressed by the high quality of the translations.

The winners were:


Poetry Section

Winner: (Connie) Guang Pan (NSW); Highly Commended: Luman Ren (Annie) (ACT)


Prose Section

Winner: Steven Langsford (SA); Highly Commended: Andrew Endrey (WA)


Click here to listen the recording of the Award Ceremony, including Isabelle Li’s presentation “The Wedding Dress Maker”.

Prize-winning entries will be published in the Association’s peer-reviewed open-access journal, The AALITRA Review along with a few words from each of the translators in May 2017.

Prizes in each section were donated by the China Cultural Centre in Sydney. Book prizes were donated by Text Publishing, Giramondo and Margaret River Press.

The AALITRA Translation Prize will be next held in 2018.

Winners of the 2016 AALITRA Translation Prize

The winners of the 2016 AALITRA Translation Prize



Inaugural AALITRA Translation Prize, 2014

For the Inaugural AALITRA Translation Prize in 2014, the focus language was Spanish. The prose text selected was “Antes del almuerzo” by Ana María Moix, and the selected poem was “¿Somos un poema?” by José Luis Reina Palazón. The winners were announced in a Ceremony held at Reader’s Feast Bookstore in Melbourne on 17 September. They were

Prose translation

Winner: Kevin Windle (ACT); Highly Commended: Anthony Cartwright (TAS)

Poetry translation

Winner: Dominique Hecq (VIC); Highly Commended: Jacqueline Buswell (NSW)

The winning entries were published in issue 10 (2015) of The AALITRA Review.

Prizes were donated by Text Publishing and the Embassy of Spain. Additional support for the Prize was provided by Hispabooks Publishing, El Patio Spanish Language School and Reader’s Feast Bookstore. Our thanks to the Jury: Lilit Thwaites (Chair), Peter Boyle, Chris Andrews and Fiona Taler.

Winners, presenters and invited guests. (Photo by Michael Reynolds)

Winners, presenters and invited guests
(Photo by Michael Reynolds)